Advertise on

In Music

Bon Iver took home Artist and Album of the Year, as well as Producer of the Year as Justin Vernon.

The WAMIs award a new group of Wisconsin music greats

The Wisconsin Area Music Industry held its 32nd annual WAMI Awards Sunday, April 15 at the Fox Cities Performing Center in Appleton.

WAMI Awards were presented in 38 categories, including artists and groups of the year, awards for music coverage in the media and two President's Awards. The People's Choice Awards also recognized regional artists and music media.

The winners:

Artist of the Year: Bon Iver
Album of the Year: Bon Iver "Bon Iver"
Song of the Year: Trapper Schoepp and the Shades "I-94"
Female Vocalist of the Year: Naima Adedapo
Male Vocalist of the Year: Mike Wendland
New Artist of the Year: Great Lake Drifters
Rising Star of the Year: Nora Collins
Alternative Artist of the Year: The Delta Routine
Roots/Americana Artist of the Year: Copper Box
Blues Artist of the Year: Aaron Williams and the Hoodoo
Christian/Gospel Artist of the Year: The Burrie Family
Country Artist of the Year: Bella Cain
Cover Band of the Year: Rabid Aardvarks
Rock Artist of the Year: Annex
Hard Rock/Metal Band of the Year: Beyond Fate
Jazz Artist of the Year: The Erotic Adventures of the Static Chicken
Polka Artist of the Year: The Squeezettes
Pop Artist of the Year: The Lucas Cates Band
Hip Hop /Rap Artist of the Year: Prophetic
R&B/Soul Artist of the Year: Tweed Funk
Reggae/World/Ska Artist of the Year: De La Buena
Club DJ/Artist of the Year: DJ Bizzon
Swing/Big Band of the Year: The Jimmys
Tribute Band of the Year: Separate Ways

Bass Player of the Year: Eric Hervey
Drummer of the Year: Rob Harvey
Guitarist of the Year: Ryan Elliott
Keyboard Player of the Year: Paul Kneevers
Reeds/Brass Player of the Year: Woody Mankowski
Specialty Instrumentalist of the Year: Raven
Strings Player of the Year: Peter Thomas

Producer of the Year: Justin Vernon
Recording Studio of the Year: Rock Garden
Music Venue of the Year: Cactus Club
Radio Station of the Year: 91.7 WMSE
Print/Electronic Media of the Year:

President's Award: Steve Tomczyk
President's Award: Lance Shellman

People's Choice Awards:

(Northeast) Artist: Half Empty
Radio station: 105.7 WAPL
Print/electronic media: The Scene

(Northwest) Artist: Meantooth Grin
Radio station: 97.1 WCOW
Print/electronic media: Wausau City Pages

(Southeast) Artist: Dirt Road Law
Radio station: 88.9 WYMS
Print/electronic media: Shepherd Express

(Southwest) Artist: Pat Watters Band
Radio station: 105.5 WMMM
Print/electronic media: Isthmus


Post a comment / write a review.

Facebook Comments

Disclaimer: Please note that Facebook comments are posted through Facebook and cannot be approved, edited or declined by The opinions expressed in Facebook comments do not necessarily reflect those of or its staff.