Sign in | Register now Like us on FacebookLike Us | Follow us on TwitterFollow Us

Milwaukee's Daily Magazine for Tuesday, July 22, 2014

Tue
Hi: 92
Lo: 64
Wed
Hi: 75
Lo: 53
Thu
Hi: 73
Lo: 57
Advertise on OnMilwaukee.com

In Music Reviews

Paul McCartney played a scorcher of a show in a steamy Miller Park Tuesday night. (PHOTO: David Bernacchi )

In Music Reviews

McCartney was affable and chatty, sharing stories of his former Beatles bandmates, Jimi Hendrix and the vacation to Morocco that inspired "My Valentine." (PHOTO: David Bernacchi )

In Music Reviews

The sold out show had fans of all ages on their feet. (PHOTO: David Bernacchi )

In Music Reviews

McCartney said the crowd was the largest in Miller Park history. (PHOTO: David Bernacchi )

It was (almost) 50 years ago today - Macca in Milwaukee




Photo Gallery Gallery: Paul McCartney at Miller Park

Paul McCartney made his Milwaukee debut 49 years ago (September 1964) at the Arena as a member of the Beatles. When he performed in Brew City for the fifth time Tuesday night at Miller Park – as part of the ongoing "Out There" tour – the show was an explosion of Fab Four nostalgia.

McCartney has been releasing solo material since 1970, though most of his '70s era output was made with his band Wings, which also featured his late wife Linda McCartney. Yet the bulk of his more than two and a half hours onstage Tuesday night was dedicated to the music of the Beatles.

Glance at the setlist below – identical (except for the inclusion of "Get Back" and exclusion of "I Saw Her Standing There" in the first encore) to the song selection McCartney's performed at his shows in DC, Indianapolis, Boston and other cities recently – and you'll see that 26 or 38 songs (68.4%) date to his time with the Fab Four.

Interestingly, one of them was a ukelele-fueled reading of "Something," penned by the late Beatles guitarist George Harrison, and another was John Lennon's "Being For the Benefit of Mr. Kite," from "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band."

"Kite" was one of five Beatles songs McCartney featured that have never before been performed in concert. The others were "Lovely Rita," "Magical Mystery Tour" favorite "Your Mother Should Know" and "All Together Now," from the "Yellow Submarine" soundtrack. Meanwhile, "Eight Days A Week" – a song Lennon famously lambasted as being "lousy" – was performed only in lip-synced TV appearances in 1965.

He definitely played more Beatles songs in Milwaukee Tuesday night than the Beatles themselves played in their short set at the Arena in '64.

But, that's OK. Regardless of how you rate McCartney's music since 1970, no one can deny that the Beatles were not only McCartney's apex, but also one of the still-untouched pinnacles of the rock and roll era.

And the chance to see and hear McCartney play not only "Let It Be" and "Yesterday" and "Hey Jude," but also "Your Mother Should Know" and "I've Just Seen A Face" onstage? Come on, who would pass that up? Surely not Tuesday's sold out and Miller Park-record crowd, which spent nearly three hours snapping flash photographs and lighting up the stadium with the glow of smartphones.

A highlight for me was hearing "All Together Now," as I sat in the stands looking out toward my grandparents' near South Side home. As a kid, I can remember making my Milwaukee grandfather laugh with maniacal dancing to the song.

With his long-standing backing band – guitarists Rusty Anderson and Brian Ray, keyboardist Paul Wickens and drummer Abe Laboriel Jr. – the 71-year-old McCartney performed eight songs from the Wings era – including "Listen to What the Man Said," "Band on the Run," a pyrotechnics-laden "Live and Let Die" and a rocking rendition of "Junior's Farm."

He played four songs from his solo records: "Maybe I'm Amazed" – rendered at a break-neck pace – and "Another Day" from 1970-71; "Here Today," a song about the death of John Lennon from 1982's "Tug of War"; and "My Valentine," from 2012's "Kisses on the Bottom."

But the audience made it quite clear that it was those Beatles songs they really wanted to hear most, often heading to the bathrooms and the beer vendors during the solo tunes.

After getting a late start due, it seems, to a longer than expected soundcheck which delayed the opening of the gates, McCartney was affable and chatty, sharing stories of his former Beatles bandmates, Jimi Hendrix and the vacation to Morocco that inspired "My Valentine." He also frequently broke into quirky little dances, revealing his skills as a showman.

Most amazing of all, however, was McCartney's stamina on a sizzling hot night in a Miller Park that was especially steamy. Despite his age, McCartney took nary a break and no one I spoke to saw him even stop to take a sip of water during the performance.

"This has been a hot one in more ways than one," McCartney said as the show wound down. It sure was.

Setlist:
Eight Days a Week
Junior's Farm
All My Loving
Listen to What the Man Said
Let Me Roll It
Paperback Writer
My Valentine
Nineteen Hundred and Eighty-Five
The Long and Winding Road
Maybe I'm Amazed
I've Just Seen a Face
We Can Work It Out
Another Day
And I Love Her
Blackbird
Here Today
Your Mother Should Know
Lady Madonna
All Together Now
Lovely Rita
Mrs. Vanderbilt
Eleanor Rigby
Being for the Benefit of Mr. Kite!
Something
Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da
Band on the Run
Back in the U.S.S.R.
Let It Be
Live and Let Die
Hey Jude

Encore:
Day Tripper
Hi, Hi, Hi
Get Back

Encore 2:
Yesterday
Helter Skelter
Golden Slumbers
Carry That Weight
The End


Talkbacks

blurondo | July 17, 2013 at 6:10 p.m. (report)

Was at the 1964 show. Heard the loudest noise in my life, the screaming of the audience. The memories are cherished.

Rate this:
  • Average rating: 0.0
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

brewerfan13 | July 17, 2013 at 3:11 p.m. (report)

I don't have an issue sitting back and enjoying a show....when it's not a rock concert. Part of the experience is to stand up, cheer and dance to your favorite songs. I LOVED this show as well as the Eagles concert, but I do feel that the crowd plays a part in making a great concert. When everyone is sitting around like bumps on a log as they were at those 2 shows... it's just not the same. Outside of that, this was a fan-freaking-tastic show! I would have payed the same amount just to see him perform Live and Let Die like that. Wow!

Rate this:
  • Average rating: 0.0
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

TosaJim | July 17, 2013 at 11:59 a.m. (report)

Explain this to me please...why must people stand during a performance?....What's wrong with sitting back and enjoying the show?

Rate this:
  • Average rating: 0.0
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5

TosaJim | July 17, 2013 at 8:28 a.m. (report)

about 1,000 years ago...when the Beatles played in Milwaukee..myself and a few of my buddies went to the hotel to see if we could see the Beatles as they left the building to go to the show....they never appeared...so we starting walking 3 blocks back to our parked car...and as we approached our car...a limo drove by....the window rolled down and John and Paul hung out and said hi....a memory I will never forget. :)

Rate this:
  • Average rating: 0.0
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
4 comments about this article.
Post a comment / write a review.

Facebook Comments

Disclaimer: Please note that Facebook comments are posted through Facebook and cannot be approved, edited or declined by OnMilwaukee.com. The opinions expressed in Facebook comments do not necessarily reflect those of OnMilwaukee.com or its staff.