By Press Release Submitted to Published Apr 18, 2016 at 5:06 PM

A diverse group of newly-elected and newly re-elected members of the Milwaukee Common Council today voiced their support for Ald. Ashanti Hamilton to serve as the next Common Council President.

Members of the 2016-20 Common Council will elect the next Council president during the 2016-2020 charter meeting at 9 a.m. tomorrow in the third floor Council Chamber at City Hall, 200 E. Wells St.

Ald. Milele A. Coggs said she is proud to support Ald. Hamilton for Council President.

"Throughout my tenure on the Council, Ald. Hamilton and I have worked together on numerous initiatives and legislative items aimed at increasing opportunities, addressing poverty and investing in people – especially children and families," Ald. Coggs said.

"He has a collaborative and results-oriented approach to getting things done that is sorely needed at this time in our city’s history, and he has the unique ability to work with all sides, all players to make progress on the issues and policies that we must address now to move Milwaukee to a better place for all citizens."

Alderwoman-Elect Chantia Lewis said she is supporting Ald. Hamilton for Council president, but is grateful to Ald. Murphy for his service.

"I recognize and applaud the contributions Ald. Murphy has made to the city, especially excellent initiatives such as the Housing Trust Fund and MKE Plays, which are worthy of our continued support," Lewis said.     

Lewis said she believes Ald. Hamilton has the passion and experience to lead the Common Council during this pivotal time in Milwaukee’s rebirth. "As the Downtown area experiences a renaissance, I believe that other areas of the city are in need of similar attention and resources, and Ald. Hamilton strongly shares that belief," she said. 

Other programs and initiatives that Ald. Hamilton has championed also have struck a chord with Lewis – including Be The Change (BTC), a comprehensive program that supports the development, success and achievement of Milwaukee’s young males of color – and the requirement that any developer receiving direct financial assistance from the city follow the standards outlined in the M.O.R.E. Ordinance.  "These are initiatives that I believe in, and that can transform Milwaukee in positive ways going forward," Lewis said.

Ald. Tony Zielinski said he sees Ald. Hamilton’s strength in "bringing diverse groups together." "I am looking forward to helping Ald. Hamilton build bridges, and to getting the north and south sides working more closely together," he said. "If the city is going to move forward, we have to bring people together, and I believe he can do that."

Ald. Russell W. Stamper, II said, "I am proud of Ald. Hamilton for accepting the leadership role and for looking at ways of bringing the Council together. I have confidence he will unite our fellow colleagues so we can work for the betterment of the entire city. I congratulate Ald. Hamilton, and I look forward to a prosperous next four years."

Ald. Bob Donovan said, "I’m proud to support Ald. Ashanti Hamilton as our new Council President. We’ve worked well together over the years, and I have no doubt that he will face the real issues challenging Milwaukee head on. I look forward to serving the next four years under his leadership."

Ald.-Elect Cavalier Johnson said, "I am looking forward to Ald. Hamilton’s leadership as Common Council President. Ashanti is a leader who has demonstrated through unique program creation that he has the ideas and passion to lead this Council." 

Ald. Mark A. Borkowski said, "I feel Ald. Hamilton will provide a refreshing change in direction and vision for our great City of Milwaukee. I look forward to working with him."

Alderman-Elect Khalif Rainey said, "I have known Ald. Hamilton for a very long period of time, ever since I was a student in high school. I also interned in Ald. Hamilton’s office after I graduated from college. He has always exhibited the type of character in leadership that I truly respect and admire. I could not see a better person as Council President."