By OnMilwaukee Staff Writers   Published Mar 13, 2013 at 10:32 AM

Ten MPS students and educators have been awarded Herb Kohl Educational Foundation scholarships and fellowships.

Five students won $1,000 Kohl Foundation Initiative Scholarships, which recognize "exceptional initiative in the classroom" and "strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond."

The winning MPS students are:

  • Aaliyah Barnes - Samuel Morse/John Marshall School for the Gifted and Talented
  • Arieal Jones - Milwaukee School of Languages
  • Brianna Portwood - Casimir Pulaski High School
  • Taliyah Robinson - Milwaukee High School of the Arts
  • Pamela Villanueva - Alexander Hamilton High School

Five educators won $1,000 Kohl Foundation Fellowships and were commended for their "superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others and for their leadership and service within and outside the classroom."

Winning MPS educators are:

  • Renee Bast - Academy of Accelerated Learning
  • Monica Czyzewski - Lincoln Avenue School
  • Steven Glaeser - Ronald Reagan College Preparatory High School
  • David Long - Rufus King International School
  • Shoshannah Pass - William G. Bruce School

The teachers' schools all won $1,000, as well, bringing the total grant to $15,000 for MPS students and faculty.

The awards will be presented at noon on Saturday, March 23 at Greenfield High School, 4800 S. 60th St.