By OnMilwaukee Staff Writers   Published Mar 02, 2015 at 6:02 PM Photography: David Bernacchi

Following a season in which the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee was ineligible for postseason play, the Horizon League recognized two players off the Panthers squad for helping lead the team to a winning record in the conference. 

Senior guard Steve McWhorter and junior forward Matt Tiby were named Second Team All-Horizon League.

It is the first time in a decade that the Panthers had multiple players honored by the league.

McWhorter led the team with 14.2 points, 4.6 assists and 1.6 steals per game while Tiby averaged 13.3 points per game and a team-leading 7.8 rebounds per game. In conference play, Tiby upped those numbers to 15.8 points and 8.7 rebounds.

Tiby was a preseason Second Team All-Horizon League pick.

The rest of the second team was made up of  Juwan Howard, Jr. (Detroit), Corey Petros (Oakland) and Greg Mays (Green Bay).

Keifer Sykes (Green Bay), Kahlil Felder (Oakland), Alec Peters (Valparaiso), Anton Grady (Cleveland State) and Trey Lewis (Cleveland State) were selected to the first team.

For the second straight year, Sykes was named the Horizon League Player of the Year.

Jubril Adekoya (Valparaiso) and Bryce Drew (Valparaiso) were tabbed Sixth Man of the Year and Coach of the Year, respectively. Bass collected Freshman of the Year honors and Fernandez was pegged Defensive Player of the Year.

 Optimism for the 2015-16 campaign is high as the Panthers return everyone but McWhorter and fellow guard Evan Richard next season and will welcome back 2014-15 redshirt Austin Arians, who averaged 11.1 ppg in 2013-14, as well as transfers JayQuan McCloud and Scotty Tyler in addition to Brock Stull and Derek Rongstad, who redshirted the 2014-15 campaign.