By OnMilwaukee Staff Writers   Published Mar 03, 2015 at 4:15 PM Photography: Bobby Tanzilo

The 35th annual Wisconsin Area Music Industry (WAMI) awards show is Sunday, April 19 at Turner Hall Ballroom, 1034 N. 4th St., beginning at 7 p.m. The awards show recognizes achievements in 35 music categories and this year features the induction of three new WAMI Hall of Fame honorees, including pop / rock band The Robbs, originally from Oconomowoc, and Sigmund Snopek, who received acclaim as a performer, composer and bandleader beginning in the late 60s.

Milwaukee-based psychedelic garage rock band Plasticland is the third honoree this year. Plasticland developed its sound over seven recordings beginning in 1980, with reissued material out in 2015 on the Cherry Red label.

Tickets for the awards show are available at the Turner Hall box office or here

Voting for the WAMI people’s choice awards remains open until 11:59 p.m. on Thursday, March 5. People's choice voting is available only on the WAMI website

The Wisconsin Area Music Industry serves the purpose of educating and recognizing the achievements of people in the Wisconsin music industry. The group also offers opportunities for youth to perform in an annual showcase and encourages students and emerging artists by awarding education scholarships.